Helpful agents are standing by: (213) 290-9179
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

What are the Policies of Car Insurance in California Obliging to Insurance Laws

Like most states, auto insurance is mandatory in California. Moreover, it is a wiser decision if you choose for car insurance instead of depositing $35,000 at the DMV (department of motor vehicles). This is because California works under the Torts law. That means one person is found to be guilty of the crime or accident and he will have to pay up for the damages. So, it is understood that one never knows what the bills can amount to. This is why it is always safer to stick to car insurance in CA.

A profitable car insurance policy is the one that is drawn up pertaining to the vehicle insurance laws of California. It includes covering the minimum liabilities as prescribed by law. The minimum liability is $15,000 for injury or death of one person, for death/ injury of more than 1 person penalty is $30,000, and $5,000 for damage caused to property.

It is also advised that one should have insurance coverage of at least $50,000 for an uninsured/ underinsured driver. This will help you cope with the losses incurred in the accident caused by an underinsured/ uninsured driver.

Car insurance CA also makes it mandatory for you to have auto insurance for your rented car. If your car insurance policy doesn’t include it, you must procure it from your rental car’s company. You must always carry the copy of your rental car’s documents especially that bear the insurance clauses. If you cannot produce your insurance papers, then your driver’s license or your car registration license shall be suspended.

The laws for individually owned commercial vehicle are separate and involve higher coverage policies. A standard insurance policy can be bought for only $845 in CA. It is the sixteenth most expensive insurance premium in the United States. Before deciding on your premium amount, a number of things are checked in to. These are your credit rating, personal credit history, driving history, pending cases in driving against you, the people to be covered etc. You can exclude a driver if you want. The person might drive the car but not claim insurance in case he commits accidents while the individual was driving your vehicle. Furthermore, your teenage children who have started driving can also be included in the policy, but the premium for it would rise.

So, before buying car insurance in CA, go through the laws prescribed by the DMV. Look carefully through the policy document offered to you as many companies try to make their clients over pay without providing them with adequate benefits. If you can purchase a policy smartly, you can save around $350 in a year.

You can learn about the different financial plans from websites and online portals. To know more about the best car insurance CA deals available, you can simply enter the ZIP code for more information. You’ll get California auto insurance quotes for free and in no time.