Helpful agents are standing by: (213) 290-9179
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

Top Things to Know About DUI and DWI Laws in California

CarInsuranceInCaliforniaQuotesComparisonNot only failure to have California auto insurance but also driving under drunken conditions can bring about stiff penalties in United States of America. The government tries to prevent any such events by enforcing strict penalties on the offender. The laws have been designed so that the offender does not repeat the offense. To ensure this, the penalties which are enforced become harsher in case of repeated cases of breaking the law.

The California auto insurance laws are designed so that both the driver and other people on the road remain safe. The driving abilities of people who are under the effect of alcohol are not perfect. Hence, chances of accidents and injuries increase manifold. This puts both the driver as well as other people on the road under serious threat. The law aims at preventing such situations and hence the officials are extremely strict regarding such cases.

California DUI and DWI are two terms related to such cases in USA. DUI talks about Driving under the Influence (mainly of Alcohol). DWI, on the other hand is Driving While Intoxicated. Both charges can be levied upon a person who is found guilty. However, some states consider both to be of a similar offense.

According to California DMV, the punishment for drinking and driving usually becomes harsher when the offense is repeated by the same person. The jail term for the first offense can be between 4 days and 6 days. A fine amount of $1400 to $2600 can also be charged. The license of the offender might also be suspended. Suspension range is anywhere between 30 days to 10 months. When the offense is again repeated, the jail term is increased as well as the other parameters of the punishment become even stricter. The jail term can be between 10 days and 1 year. The fine amount can also be increased. It can be anywhere from $1800 and $ 2800. Even the license suspension term is increased. It can be suspended up to 2 years. If the same person repeats the action for the third time, he/she can be put behind bars up to 1 year. The amount of monetary fines that can be levied is between 1800 USD to 18k USD. The driving license can also be suspended up to 3 years. Such laws prevent people to repeat the crime again. In turn, the safety on the road increases as well.

In case you are charged with any of these fines, you need to be aware what are the legal procedures and what you are supposed to do. Suitable attorneys can assist you in this matter. This site would guide you to find suitable help in legal matters. You need to provide your zip code and the algorithms used in here would provide you with a list of suitable lawyers who can help you with this. Suitable information regarding the various laws and other factors can be browsed throughout the various sections of this site. These are a must know for all Drivers in California. Keep abreast with all the laws and California auto insurance requirements to enjoy a safe and happy driving experience.