Helpful agents are standing by: (213) 290-9179
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

How Can DUI And DWI Laws In California Affect You?

Drinking and driving is not allowed in the United States of America. Not only it affects your California cheap car insurance rate, states have separate laws to deal with such arrests. While some states discriminate between DWI and DUI, some do not. DUI stands for Driving under the Influence (mainly of Alcohol) whereas DWI is Driving While Intoxicated. Both these charges can be levied upon a person if he is arrested under such conditions. As a driver, you must be aware of the differences between DWI and DUI according to California DWV law. Know the legal procedures and what the conditions under which you can be arrested are. Also get help from respective lawyers who specialist in this matter.

DWI and DUI laws are strict in California. Both laws can have strict punishments. The penalties get harsher if the offense takes place repeatedly. For the first offense, you can be jailed from 4 to 6 days. A fine of $1400 to $2600 can be levied upon you. Your license can be suspended from 30 days to 10 months as well. The offense if it happens for the second time invites a slightly harsher punishment. Firstly, the offender can be jailed from 10 days to 1 year. He might also have to pay a fine between $1800 and $2800. The license of the person can also be suspended for 2 years. However, this term can be reduced to 1 year in some cases. The third punishment invites even stricter penalties. The imprisonment can be anywhere between 120 days and 1 year. The fines and penalties can range from $1800 to $18000. The license would also be suspended for a period of 3 years. Thus, you need to be aware of these strict California Auto Insurance Laws before you drive around the state.

There are also two methods in which you can be booked because of this offense. Firstly, you can be interrogated by the officer if he/she finds your driving not normal. In this case, he might pull you over and ask you to undergo some simple tests to know how sober a person is. These tests can be of a number of types. He/she might simply ask you to walk in a straight line. He can ask you to speak for sometime, or ask you to follow some commonplace instructions. On the other hand, the other type of arrest can be made by checking the level of alcohol or any other drug in your blood. You would be asked to blow into an instrument and it would detect traces of alcohol in your breath. The allowable amount of alcohol in your blood is 0.01% if you are less than 21 years of age. Above this age, the allowable limit is 0.08%.

Once you are booked, you should get touch with suitable legal experts who can help you. This site helps you in this matter. You can enter your zip code and you would be given a list of legal experts close to your area. It is a great service which you can use in such cases to get help. You can alos use this method to get the best California auto insurance quotes.