Helpful agents are standing by: (213) 290-9179
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

Effective Tricks to Get Car Insurance in California After a DUI

Once you are charged with a DUI, you are looking at a host of problems, starting from acquiring car insurance in California. California car insurance can be obtained if you follow certain steps even before getting charged. The DUI offence puts a black mark on your driving record in California, which can extend up to ten years. However, not all is lost. There is no reason to be disheartened. Many companies are ready to provide you with car insurance in California, even if you have a DUI conviction. Search for companies that provide a good premium rate and compare their quotes, and you are likely to find one. The good news is that the California insurance department has made it a law that companies cannot cancel their policies midway, if you are charged guilty of DUI. Nor can it increase its rates in the middle. So you are not at risk, at least not immediately after being charged. However, you will have to go through a lot of trouble if you are looking for a new insurance.

AutoInsuranceQuoteInCaliforniaCompanies are likely to charge you a high premium rate. So what do you do in case you get a DUI charge? The first thing that you should do is look for a good lawyer to fight your case in the hearing. He may get your charge reduced largely in a plea bargain, and the suspension period can be reduced to as less as 30 days. The next best option is to tell immediately the company to issue a SR-22 form. A SR-22 form is a sort of financial document, a proof of financial responsibility. The California law states that for damage to real property, the insurance policy must provide $5,000. For the injury or death of one person, the insurance policy must provide $15,000 and 30,000 for more than one person.

The thing is that, since the license is immediately suspended following a DUI charge, the SR-22 is the only way to get your license re-instated as soon as possible. Nevertheless, a SR-22 form can only be issued by the insurance company. Therefore, the only way to get back your license is to inform your company beforehand. After your SR-22, form has been filed by your company to the DMV, collect it thereafter, and do not let your license lapse. Even if there is no increase in premium immediately, you are likely to withstand the worst of high premium for a decade. Other factors like age, previous records, and level of alcohol content in blood are determinants of how much premium you would have to pay.

It is important to look for a trusted insurer who will stand by you for years to come. If you are a repeated offender, it is advisable to get an ignition interlock devise, if you want your license re-instated. You should also ensure that you demand a hearing within ten days of your suspension of license. It may happen that you may not be charged in the hearing, and you may not have to inform the company at all. The company never gets to know of your arrest. What you can do to reduce your car insurance premium after a DUI, is to do some research about the different companies and the quotes they are providing. You can also exchange your car for a cheaper one.

Above all, now that you are a high-risk driver, be careful the next time you drive and avoid getting any more charges, otherwise, increasing premium rates of car insurance in California, will definitely burn a hole in your pocket. Finally, if you are worrying about high premium, you can enter your zip code below and find out the best quotes.