Helpful agents are standing by: (213) 290-9179
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

Driving Safely in California

Drinking and driving is one of the most major concerns on all states, it has been increasing at a phenomenal rate. It has led to huge losses in terms of capital property throughout the country. One American dies in every 22 minutes because of drunk driving according to a certain statistics. That’s why laws have become stricter throughout the states, especially the car insurance in California.

Driving under the influence (DUI), driving while intoxicated (DWI) and operating under the influence (OUI) are laws related to restricting drunk driving. The laws were first established in New York and were followed by the rest, California came under these laws until the other 50 states had implemented it. Today, the car insurance policies in the state of California, like those of all other states, have to stick to the strict DUI and DWI laws.

There has been a difference between laws made back then and now, in 1910 it penalized just on the basis of being drunk, however now things have become much more complex

Towards 1930, two major groups American Medical Association and National Safety Council developed a major breakthrough due to their strenuous research regarding the laws set up. They in fact came with better variations and new implementations which were made after they had performed certain specific tests and came with ways to reduce drunk driving accidents. They decided upon keeping the alcohol level at 0.15 % back then, which was a major turnaround. That is year 1938.

In around 1970, groups such as Mothers against Drunk Driving (MADD) and Students against Drunk Driving (SADD) made fresh attempts to make drunken driving laws even stricter. They lowered the limit from 0.15% to 0.10% which was even lowered to 0.08%. Legal drinking age was increased to 21 from 18, and made it illegal for those below 21 to drink. Their efforts are still on as they strive to make the laws stricter.

However something which was seen among all states was their strict response towards drunk driving. They have realized the seriousness of the offense and punishment. If during the breathe analyzer test they test positive, the offender will be immediately marked guilty and it also applies to person who refuses to take the test. A penalty for

DUI Laws in California varies depending on the nature of the offense. One can face a minimum of four days in jail, up to one year in extreme cases. Penalties may well go up to $18000 however, the average ranges from $1400 to $2600.

Considering the fact that you are a first time offender, you will be asked to pay the normal fine and then be asked to take the alcohol education program, where you will be made to understand the risks related with alcohol and drunk driving. In case you frequently drive under influence, your fines will increase, so will your punishment and also your stay at the program will also increase. Along with the breathe analyzer test, the officials also conduct certain random tests such as the Horizontal Gaze, Walk and Turn, One Leg Stand tests to confirm whether driver can understand commands or not, and whether he is able to coordinate his movements. So, it is preferred by most to have car insurance in California to escape from the heavy liabilities. A variety of Californian car insurance policies are thus made easily available in this state.

To do this just enter your zip code and get your quote online.

allowfullscreen=”true”>