Helpful agents are standing by: (213) 290-9179
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

Practice Safe Driving In The Roads Of California

Drinking and driving is one of the major concerns all over states, it has been increasing at a phenomenal rate, and is a worrying factor. It has led to huge losses in terms of capital property throughout the country; dollars are being wasted along with the many lives it takes. One American dies in every 22 minutes because of drunken driving according to a certain statistics. That is why laws have become stricter throughout the states.

Driving under the influence (DUI), driving while intoxicated (DWI) and operating under the influence (OUI) all are laws related to restricting drunken driving. The laws were first established in New York and were followed by the rest, California came under these laws until the other 50 states had commemorated. Today, the car insurance policies in the state of California, like those of all other states, have to stick to the strict DUI and DWI laws.

There has been quite a difference between laws made back then and of now, in 1910 it penalized just based on being drunk, however now things have become much more complex. With this has also come up car insurance in California to escape of the heavy liabilities.

Towards 1930, two major groups American Medical Association and National Safety Council developed a major breakthrough due to their strenuous research regarding the laws set up. They in fact came with better variations and new implementations that were made after they had performed certain specific tests and came with ways to reduce drunken driving accidents. They decided upon keeping the alcohol level at 0.15 % back then, which was a major turnaround. This is year 1938.

Then in around 1970, groups such as Mothers against Drunk Driving (MADD) and Students against Drunk Driving (SADD) made fresh attempts to make drunken driving laws even stricter. They lowered the limit from 0.15% to 0.10%, which was even lowered to 0.08%. Legal drinking age was increased to 21 from 18, and made it illegal for those below 21 to drink. Their efforts are still on as they strive to make the laws stricter.

However, something, which was seen among all states, was their strict response towards drunken driving. They have realized how serious an offence it is and punishment for the defaulters should be stringent. If during the breathe analyzer test they test positive, the offender will be immediately marked guilty and so will be a person if he/she refuses to take the test. Penalties for DUI Laws in California vary depending on the nature of your offence. One can face a minimum of four days of jail going up to one year in extreme cases. Penalties may well go up to $18000 however; the average ranges from $1400 to $2600.

Considering the fact that you are a first time offender, you will be asked to pay the normal fine and then be asked to take the alcohol education program, where you will be made to understand the risks related with alcohol and drunken driving. In case you frequently drive under alcohol, your fines will increase, so will your punishment and your stay at the educative program will also increase. Along with the breathe analyzer test, the officials also conduct certain random tests such as the Horizontal Gaze, Walk and Turn, One Leg Stand tests to confirm whether driver can understand commands or not!, and whether he is able to coordinate his movements. So, it is preferred by most to have car insurance in California to escape from the heavy liabilities. A variety of Californian car insurance policies is thus made easily available in this state.

To do this just enter your zip code and get your quote online.

Reasons Why You Should Not Take DUI In California For Granted

There is an extent to everything. The extent is the point up to where the rules can be bent and the point where the bending of the rules can be tolerated by the enforcement. There is an extent to everything and that is the case with DUI too. There is an extent to DUI charges and the person violating the DUI laws becomes a habitual violator of the DUI laws in a state like California that are passed by the California DMV. The penalties for DUI charges, at this point, start to become harsher and morph into penalties that a person will remember for the rest of the lives. Not only are these penalties harsh but they are also the components of a lesson the person will remember for the rest of their lives. Because of this very lesson, the person will think twice before they even take a sip of alcohol or a sniff of drugs and have their keys in their pocket.

These penalties have been specially lined up by the government in order to teach habitual violators of the law a lesson and to stop them from doing any further damage to their country. Law violation should always be taken as something that is serious and severe. A person should not look at a law violation as some kind of joke. A law violation puts a person into the learning seat and damages the record. The person’s permanent record is significant everywhere and it is inspected everywhere as something that they need to keep clean of blemishes and dents such as law violations. When it comes to DUI violations, there are three stages. The first stage is the basic stage or the first offense stage where the punishments are enough to make a person realize what they have done. The second stage is the stage where a person has committed their second DUI offense and the penalties start to get much worse. The last stage is the stage where the person commits their 3rd DUI offense and can then be classified as a habitual violator of the DUI laws in California that have been passed by the California DMV.

Many people take the third stage or the third DUI offense lightly. Well, you clearly should not that is because the penalties up to this point are only minor and will not affect a person so much. However, when the person has committed their third DUI offense, playtime is indeed over. The penalties start to become serious. There is more jail time, more license suspension, and more probation I addition to the other penalties the law has in store for habitual violators of the DUI laws in California. A person must always remember that they need to stop after the second offense. They should remember that if they take one more step, they would have a life that bears resemblance to hell and that they will have more than just blemishes on their permanent record.

 

You can now compare auto insurance quotes by simply entering your ZIP code in the box at the top of this webpage.

The Disadvantages Of A DUI Allegation In California

There are consequences to everything. Some consequences are good, other, not so much. Law violations are some things that have grave consequences and they have consequences that teach the person violating the law a lesson they need to remember. That is the reason why many people find these consequences to be harsh on the person that is violating the law. There are many consequences of allegations and charges of violating the law and all of these consequences are there to teach the person a lesson. DUI laws are laws, which are applied and implemented on people that are under the influence or are drinking alcohol. DUI means driving under the influence. In this statement, the influence is the influence of either alcohol, or any substance that can raise the BAC (blood alcohol concentration) levels of the person. These things might be alcohol, they might be cocaine or other drugs and the might even be simple drugs that a person takes with prescriptions from the doctor. Anything that increases a person’s BAC levels is a drug and if a person is found driving while under the influence of that drug, they will be subjected to the consequences of violating DUI laws.

When a person violates DUI laws, they should be ready and prepared for the consequences that come. The consequences and the penalties that a person violating the DUI laws in a state like California, which are set by the California DMV are subject to change as the person starts becoming a habitual offender of the law. This means that the more times they violate DUI laws, the more harsh the consequences will be. Here are some of the consequences of DUI charges along with their severity per number of violation.

1st offense

License suspension:  6 months for citizens over the age of 21 and 1 year for citizens under the age of 21

Probation: 1-5 years

Fines: $390-$1,000

Possible jail time: 48 hours- 6 months

Auto insurance loss as ordered by the California DMV: There will be a loss of auto insurance or higher premiums.

Ignitions interlock device installation: You will be ordered to use the ignition device on your vehicle.

Vehicle impoundment:  The court will impound multiple offenders’ vehicle.

Community service as decided by the jury: Community service for 10 days

2nd offense

License suspension: 2 years

Probation: 1-5 years

Fines: $390-$1,000

Possible jail time: 96 hours-1 year

Auto insurance loss: There will be a loss of auto insurance or higher premiums.

Ignitions interlock device installation: You will be ordered to use the ignition device on your vehicle.

Vehicle impoundment: The court will impound multiple offenders’ vehicle.

Community service as decided by the jury: Community service for 5 days

3rd offense

License suspension: 3 years

Probation: 1-5 years

Fines: $390-$1,000

Possible jail time: 4 months – 1 year

Auto insurance loss: There will be a loss of auto insurance or higher premiums.

Ignitions interlock device installation: You will be ordered to use the ignition device on your vehicle.

Vehicle impoundment: The court will impound multiple offenders’ vehicle.

Community service as decided by the jury: None

The penalties that are designed to teach the violators of California DUI laws a lesson are not soft in any way and they are enough to teach the DUI offenders in any state a lesson.

 

This website can help one compare insurance quotes! Simply enter your ZIP code in the box at the top to see for yourself.

A Beneficial Guide To DUI and DWI Laws In California

The road has many different laws and all of these laws are made for different occasions and different violations. Traffic police and the highway police have been made for a reason, and that reason is to penalize the people that violate the laws of the road and teach them a lesson. Every state in the US has different laws regarding drivers, cars and the road and all of these are to be followed by the people who live there. If the people fail to respect and obey these laws, they will be subject to many punishments and penalties that will affect them in many different ways. There are many different laws and there are certainly different penalties and punishments that go with them.

There are many different laws and they include the likes of speeding laws, parking laws, safety laws, maintenance laws and one of the most important ones are the DUI/DWI laws in a certain state such as California. The California DUI/DWI laws are the laws that regard the drivers that drive cars while drinking or while being drunk. DUI is the abbreviation for drunk under influence and DWI is the abbreviation for driving while impaired. Both the DUI and DWI laws concern alcohol and other substances that can impair a person and the DUI/DWI laws in a state such as California are set down by the department of motor vehicles or DMV, which, in California is the California DMV. A person caught breaking these laws is subject to many penalties that have also been decided by the Californian department of motor vehicles. The penalties that are inflicted on a person are subject to change with the number of times the person has violated the DUI/DWI laws.

What are DUI charges?

A person gets a DUI or DWI charge when they are caught driving while under the influence or driving while they are drunk. Being drunk impairs not only a person’s sight, but also their judgment, reflexes and their thinking overall. No one wants a driver like that on the road. That is why when the police sees a person driving while they are drunk, which is quite visible, they make them pull over and run tests on them, tests that can be manually conducted. These tests include reading tests and breathe tests. If these tests suggest that, the person is drunk or under the influence of drugs, the person is arrested and charged with a DUI offense. These charges are what are known as DUI charges and these charges entitle a person to the penalties they deserve.

How can DUI charges affect car insurance?

Every single insurance company on the planet wants the people they ensure to be free of any law violations and they need the person’s history on the road to be as white as milk. That is because more charges and more law violations indicate that the person is more likely of being in an accident and the insurance company does not want to insurance a person that gets into accidents on a frequent basis. DUI charges are dents on a person’s history on the road and they can drastically increase the amount they pay the insurance company in the form of insurance premiums. If a person is charged with multiple DUI violations, their car insurance as a whole can be in jeopardy.

The Consequences of DUI/DWI

There are many different consequences of DUI charges and DUI violations. All these consequences and the penalties that a person is entitled to depend on the number of DUI offenses they have committed. The number of times a person has received DUI allegations or charges determines what penalties they will get and it determines the severity of the penalties and punishments. There are many different penalties and each has a level of severity, which keeps increasing as the number of DUI violations in a person’s file increase. Here are some of the possible penalties and their severity according to different amounts of violations.

Fine – A fine is the most common penalty that a person is entitled to when they break the DUI laws in California that are set by the California DMV. However, the amount that a person has to pay as a fine keeps increasing as the person keeps violating DUI laws in California. Here are the current amounts of fines.

•             1st offense: $390 to $1300

•             2nd offense: $1500 or above

•             3rd offense: The person becomes a habitual offender of the law when they commit a third offense to the DUI laws in California and the fine increases at this point.

Probation – If a person commits a DUI offense, they can be placed on probation for a certain amount of time, which is determined by the DMV, and the court united. The person will not be able to drive a car in this amount of time.

•             1st offense: 3 to 5 years

•             2nd offense: More than 5 years

•             3rd offense: The person becomes a habitual offender of the DUI laws in California at this point and can then be subjected to long periods of probation as decided by the court.

License suspension – By committing a DUI offense, a person might be looking at a license suspension. Their license will be suspended for the period of time that their violation deserves and they will have to pay a reimbursement fine when they need to get their license restored or get a new license after the period of their license suspension has passed.

•             1st offense: 4-6 months

•             2nd offense: 24 months

•             3rd offense: The person becomes a habitual offender of the law at this point and the period of time that a habitual offender’s license is suspended is 24 months according to the Californian department of motor vehicles.

There are penalties you have to endure when you offend the DUI laws in California. That is why it is always recommended that a person avoid driving while they are drunk because the consequences might be too harsh for some people.

This website can help one compare insurance quotes! Simply enter your ZIP code in the box at the top to see for yourself.

Necessary Factors That A Person Needs To Consider When Charged With DUI

Whenever the police get their hands on a person that is breaking the laws of the road, they need to do textbook procedures and need to handle the situation in the way the book tells them to. In every state, including California, the DMV being the California DMV has passed a law that every person can question the police officer’s doing if they do in legally and in the court. When a person is being arrested, they need to make sure that the police do everything the way it is means to be and do not mess things up. A good citizen always checks the police, as well as themselves.

AutoInsuranceInCaliforniaCompaniesThe most cases where the police arrests people is when they commit a DUI offense. DUI offenders should also take care of the fast that they check the police officer’s each and every move and they make sure that the police officer does everything the way they are to be done. If the police officer fails to do textbook procedures, the person being arrested can plead in the court. Here are four things that a person should check for when they are charged and arrested for a DUI offense.

1.            Whether or not your rights are being breached – Every single person in the state of California has constitutional rights. These rights are in effect all of the time, even when the person is being arrested. A person must check that when they are being arrested, their constitutional rights are not breached.

2.            Whether the officer followed textbook procedures – A person must always check the officer and they should check whether the officer is following the book. This means that everything the officer does must be according to the book and it must be performed the way it is meant to be as ordered by the California DMV. That is because if the police officer fails to do textbook procedures and do everything the way it was meant to be, that can become a loophole and the person that is arrested can plead against it in court where it is legal.

3.            Whether the police officer exclaimed your rights when arresting – It is the duty of a police officer to inform you of your rights when they are performing the arrest. If the police officer in any case does not inform you of your right and performs the arrest without doing that, you can plead against their actions in the court. This will lead to a hearing in your favor and it is useful when trying to prevent DUI charges. A person must know and remember to check closely when the police enforcer is performing the arrest on the person.

4.            Whether the tests were properly conducted – Each person has the right of questioning the way the police office conducted blood alcohol level tests and the apparatus they used. That is because a person needs to make sure that their arrest was legal, original, and not a misconception due to unmaintained equipment.

 

If you want to compare insurance quotes in your area, simply enter your ZIP code in the box at the top!

Helpful Guides In Hiring A DUI Lawyer

There are many things that a person should check and the person should take care of when they are hiring staff for any given purpose. That is because when a person hires someone, they need to make sure that the person is the one they are looking for and whether that person has everything they need or not. A person should also make sure that they hire people that are of use to them, especially when they hire DUI lawyers. A DUI lawyer is a person that is specialized in pleading the cases of people against whom DUI charges are pressed. Everyone needs a lawyer when they need to fight off a DUI charge and that is why they need to take care of some things when hiring a DUI lawyer.

Here are four tips a person can use to hire the DUI lawyer that is the best for them.

1.            Place of practice – The place of practice of every lawyer you hire for every type of cases should be related to your case, especially when it comes to DUI lawyers. If you need to find the best DUI lawyer, you should make sure that they know the DUI laws of your state, for example the state of California. The laws regarding the roads of California are passed by the California DMV. The lawyer that would suit you best would be a lawyer that has practiced their law skills in the state of California, preferably under the department of motor vehicles.

2.            Specialization – The lawyer’s specialization is the trait of the lawyer that a person needs to ensure that it is regarding their case. This means that if the person is pleading a DUI case, they should get a lawyer that has a specialization and a good set of expertise in DUI cases and the fending off DUI charges. A person needs to be screened from DUI charges and that they need to find a DUI lawyer in California that can help them the best. They need a lawyer that has a specialization in DUI, preferable California DUI.

3.            Experience – A person must ensure that the DUI lawyer they choose is experienced and has a good set of expertise in the area of your interest, that are being DUI. You must ensure that the person is heavily experienced in DUI and has a good reputation of fending off DUI charges.

4.            Service fees – You should always keep in mind that you need to find a lawyer that has experience and expertise in DUI and charges a nominal amount of fees. You should remember how much you could spend on a lawyer. For this reason, it is always best to manage your budget and then set off to find a lawyer that can help you with your DUI charges. If a person gets a lawyer and cannot pay them, it is likely that they will need another lawyer to fend off the lawsuits by the lawyer they previously hired.

 

If you want to locate California DMV center or compare insurance quotes in your area, simply enter your ZIP code in the box at the top!

Common Misconceptions About DUI Laws In California

Misconceptions are usually what the people believe of something even though that is wrong and there are facts that suggest otherwise. These misconceptions arise from the freethinking of people and their unawareness. When a person is not aware of the consequences or the after math of something, they make misconceptions and misconceptions often cost a person a lot. People need to be safe and the need to be safe each time. If a person thinks that they are safe while they are doing something important and they do not have any security, they could be in a whole lot of trouble. A person should always avoid having misconceptions about things especially when those things are really, important.

Auto insurance laws in California and the laws of the road in California are extremely important. People make many misconceptions regarding these laws and their misconceptions end in nothing but trouble and a DUI charge. Misconceptions are common and almost every single person living in California makes misconceptions regarding the laws of the road in California. That is because of two things either they are not aware of the laws, any amendments made in the laws or they are over-confident. Here are three common misconceptions that Californians make when driving on the road regarding DUI charges.

1.            Being under the legal limit means I won’t be charged – Many people think that if they are drunk under the legal limit than they can drive safely. That is a misconception because if the police deem them impaired and unable to drive, they will indeed have DUI charges pressed against them. This is a common misconception that many people driving with BAC levels that cause them to become impaired have. It does not matter if you are under or over the legal limit as long as you are impaired and unable to drive.

2.            Drugs prescribed by the doctor do not count as drugs – Any drugs, whether legal or illegal that can cause a person blood alcohol concentration levels to rise are accountable. If a person is taking any drug that has been prescribed by the doctor and caused their BAC levels to shoot up, they will have to be tested and if they are deemed, impaired, they will indeed have DUI charges pressed against them. That is because it does not matter what type of drugs they take, all that matters is that whether their BAC levels are above the legal limit and whether or not they are impaired. Auto insurance laws in California must be definitely observed in order to prevent costly charges.

3.            Passing a roadside sobriety test will refrain from a DUI charge – This is one of the most common misconceptions that the public believe. Most people think that is they pass a roadside sobriety test; they will not have a DUI charge pressed against them. This means that if they can pass a test that the police ask them to, the police will not charge them for DUI. That is wrong because many people driving under the influence can pass sobriety test. The police will judge whether the person is impaired or not and only then will the decision be made.

 

This website can help one compare auto insurance quotes! Simply enter your ZIP code in the box at the top to see for yourself.

Essential DUI Laws In California That Needs To Be Observed

There are many laws in every single state in the United States of America. That is because every state has different things to take care of and when we talk about the laws of the road, every single state in the US is full of them. These laws are decided by the department of motor vehicles of the respective state. We will be talking about the laws of the road in California, which are decided and passed by the California DMV. The Californian department of motor vehicles has a huge mandate of deciding what is legal, what is not on the roads of the state, and that is why they have made so many laws. All of these laws refer to different things. There are some specific laws that are known as the California DUI/DWI laws.

California is a huge state and there have to be laws, laws regarding drunken driving or driving under the influence of substances that are illegal in the state. DUI is the abbreviation for driving while under the influence and that is the influence of either alcohol or alcoholic substances. Drugs that increase the BAC (blood alcohol level) concentrations of a person count as substances that can put a person under the influence and that are why they are banned. Well, there are some specific laws regarding DUI offenses and DUI charges (1). These laws should be memorized by every single Californian out there because these laws are important and crucial. Here are some of the most must-know DUI laws in California.

1.            Decline to be tested and you will pay- When the police get their hands on a person that they think is driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, they immediately tell them to face a wall and remain silent. Next, they start testing the person for the BAC level. If the person retaliates and declines to be tested, they are to be taken into custody immediately. That is because the police is the law and condemning or declining the law will not be unpunished.

2.            The penalties increase as you become habitual- As a person become a habitual violator of the law, they are subjected to harsh punishments that are recommended and are advised to be given by the California DMV. That is because when a person starts disrespecting the law repeatedly, they need to b taught a serious lesson.

This lesson comes in the form of extremely harsh punishments and penalties that are specially designed to teach the people that are habitual of condemning and disrespecting the law a lesson that they will remember and a lesson that they will think of when they even have thoughts of breaking DUI laws once again.

3.            You need to say something, say it to the jury- A person should never quarrel with the police and they should never tell the police to back off. That is because the police is doing their job and you have to respect them. If a person fails to do that, they might be looking at more charges pressed against them.

 

You can now compare insurance quotes by simply entering your ZIP code in the box at the top of this webpage.

Mandatory Car Insurance Laws in California

The time comes in every person’s life when they finally become mature and move out of their parents’ house. At that very time they think about getting their own place, car, job, and car insurance in CA or their respective state. Well, getting independent stuff is good and it shows that they are ready to take responsibility of the stuff they do and they are ready to shift into practical life. But when a person is new to practical life, there are many things that they need to understand and there are many laws that they need to figure out.

Car insurance is no different and it also has some particular laws which require the person who wants to get car insurance to make certain decisions. These laws vary from state to state because different states make different decisions based on different facts. Here are some crucial, essential and important laws that a person needs to know and they need to tackle them when they are planning to get car insurance for themselves. Here is a list.

1.            Get liability insurance in California– The only state that does not require a person to get liability insurance in the United States is the state of New Hampshire. Every state excluding New Hampshire has made it obligatory that a driver must get liability insurance before they can legally step on the road. That is one law that a person shouldn’t forget because if they do, they will be in trouble. If a person gets on the road without liability insurance, not only it will burden them financially but it is also illegal and it can cause blemishes on their driving history.

2.            Meet the state minimum- Every state except New Hampshire has a minimum value that a person has to meet when they are getting liability insurance for themselves. That is because the state knows that when there is an accident, most people have to risk their jobs and their assets in order to pay off the debt. After looking at that fact only did the state government decide that the people who drive on the roads will have to get liability insurance? Not just any liability insurance, a liability insurance that has a minimum value. These values in California go as 15/30/5.

That is because the state requires the people of California to get liability insurance in the following format.

•             $15,000 for bodily injury liability insurance for per person harmed in the accident

•             $30,000 for bodily injury liability insurance for all the people hurt in the accident.

•             $5,000 for Coverage for property damage liability

3.            The denial form- The denial form is not obligatory in most states but it is in California. A denial form is a form that a person getting car insurance in CA has to sign after the deal has been made official. Why? The representative has to offer you uninsured motorist insurance and if you decline the offer you have to sign the form.

This website can help one compare auto insurance quotes in CA! Simply enter your ZIP code in the box at the top to see for yourself.

Protect your Investments Against DUI Driver with Cheap Car Insurance in California

The basic necessities these days have included life and car insurance premium, so much more if you are in California. The car liability insurance is one of the major requirements if you are planning to use your car. In the state, you can’t actually use the public roads and highways if you are not able provide any proof of financial responsibility. Nevertheless, you can avail of the cheap car insurance in California if you need one right now. This can be in the form of vehicle liability or the options presented by the Department of Motor Vehicle (DMV). If you can’t present car liability insurance, you can opt for depositing $35,000 to the DMV and obtain a self-insurance or a surety bond of $35,000 from a company that is legally acknowledged in the state of California to do business.

The financial responsibility certificate is necessary to every vehicle owner because failure to comply means you are driving illegally and you will be meted with the appropriate penalties. One of the reasons why the California car insurance law is strictly implemented is purposely for your protection. The driving public is shielded against possible accident related expenses. As you drive along the streets in California, you are certain that the other cars are also covered by the car insurance and that the vehicle owner is financially responsible for his or her act.

Paying quarterly or annual premium for your car insurance in California is a battle most especially of your income is just enough to cover for your basic needs and a little percentage for your savings. Sensing this need, the state of California is offering a low-cost automobile insurance for those with household income is less than the approved federal poverty line, or less than 250%. If you are qualified, you can pay as low as $400 per annum to cover the minimum car liability requirement, which is 15/35/5 ($15,000 for single injury/death, $30,000 for more than one death/injury and $5,000 for damage of property).

For those who are not qualified for the low-cost car insurance, there is a solution to that. Almost all car insurance providers have lowered their premiums because of the stiff competition. Cheap car insurance in California is plenty for everyone. This scheme is beneficial because you are given low premiums, which cover the state mandated minimum vehicle liability insurance. For you to know the companies who are offering low car insurance, you can enter your zip right at the search box and get the full listings of the different providers near your place. From here you can compare their premiums and even your current premium. Enter your zip now and see which company you will sign-up with.